Pinguino Forum

Full Version: [SOLVED] Pinguino32-DIY: Bootloader
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,
I've build a Pinguino32-DIY on a breadboard with a Pic32MX220F032B (the PDIP version). I've uploaded the bootloader PIC32-Pinguino_HIDBoot_MX220.hex found in the extra/bootloaders/32bit folder of the x4-easy package for windows. I assume, the LED should blink if I connect my board to USB but nothing happens.
The wiring of the board is OK, I've tested it with a little blink program in MPLAB X.
Is the PIC32-Pinguino_HIDBoot_MX220.hex the right bootloader for the Pic32MX220F032B-I/SP ?
Can I program the pic32 from the pinguino IDE with a pickit3?
If not, is it possible to do it manually (create a .hex file from the pinguino IDE, load it up with an external utility and an icsp programmer)?

I'm new to pinguino platform and pic µControllers. I have some experience with arduino (atmega and attiny controllers) and I've build the pinguino 26j50 DIY on a breadboard. It works like a charme! :-)

Thanks in advance.

Oliver
Have a look at the manuals for the similar Olimex board. You need to do the same with the buttons. Did you?

John
Hello John,
(16-06-2013, 11:25 PM)pingotg Wrote: [ -> ]Have a look at the manuals for the similar Olimex board. You need to do the same with the buttons. Did you?

yes, I did. But nothing happened. (Pinguino wiki says: "Press and hold down the user button BUT. Press and release the user button RST. Release the user button BUT")
Olimex uses on its MX220 board a MX220F032D chip (44-pin QDIP). On my board I'm using a F032B (28-pin PDIP). Also the schematics are totally different.
In the meantime I've found a blog post from may 2012 where Jean-Pierre wrote "[...] It is pin to pin compatible with the PIC32MX220F032B wich can be used with the same bootloader."