Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello From New Zealand
24-09-2011, 04:48 AM,
Hello From New Zealand
I've been using PIC micros for many years, mostly assembly programming. I like the way Arduino works and its relative simplicity but do not want to use Atmel for a number of reasons (mostly my PIC experience and the trouble we have getting Atmel parts).

I came across Pinguino and thought it was a good merge of PIC and Arduino. One of the problems I have now is that I want to target other PIC chips, that do not have internal USB.

I also need to get 2 or 3 quite complex Arduino projects running on PIC. I am not sure yet how I will go about this. I have looked at adding the PIC18F2525 and PIC16F88 to Pinguino, which may be good for Pinguino. But at the moment I am thinking that it may be easier to convert the Arduino projects direct to C.

I will expand on this later and see how it goes.

Paul
24-09-2011, 10:08 AM,
RE: Hello From New Zealand
Hi Paul, welcome !
SDCC works not so good with PIC16F so I think there will be no port to this kind of chip. I don't know the PIC18F2525 but it could be possible to use it with a serial bootloader. We just need someone to do it ;o). For your information, PIC18f26j50 is on our roadmap.
Maybe we can help you with your complex Arduino project ? I am interesting in the difficulties you will get to improve Pinguino.
Regis.
PS: New Zealand vs. France starts in 30mn, May the best team win !

(24-09-2011, 04:48 AM)PMB-NZ Wrote: I've been using PIC micros for many years, mostly assembly programming. I like the way Arduino works and its relative simplicity but do not want to use Atmel for a number of reasons (mostly my PIC experience and the trouble we have getting Atmel parts).

I came across Pinguino and thought it was a good merge of PIC and Arduino. One of the problems I have now is that I want to target other PIC chips, that do not have internal USB.