Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
USB driver and PIC18F2550 problems
10-01-2013, 10:38 PM,
USB driver and PIC18F2550 problems
Hi

I'm very new to all this microcontrollers.
I've built generic PIC18F2550 Pinguino board with two buttons and flashed bootloader 1.0. I know now this was very old but should work, right ?

I've a problem with driver under windows xp sp3. When I connect my board and it is asking for driver I pointed to the directory where it is located and it seems installed fine but using test tool from libusb package I found that pinguino driver is popping up and vanishing in 1 second period and very frequently it causes BSOD (system crash) later.

One time I was able to run IDe meanwhile and program simple blink code. After reconnecting Usb cable to my board when a jumper is set to run application on boot I saw my led blinking but it was no stable, sometimes it blinks very fast the again with 1 sec delay and then turn off.

What is going on ? could it be related to USB cable length (aprox 1.5-1.8m I think) ?

Sad This journey with Pinguino is not easy
11-01-2013, 01:33 PM,
RE: USB driver and PIC18F2550 problems
(10-01-2013, 10:38 PM)forest Wrote: Hi

I'm very new to all this microcontrollers.
I've built generic PIC18F2550 Pinguino board with two buttons and flashed bootloader 1.0. I know now this was very old but should work, right ?

I've a problem with driver under windows xp sp3. When I connect my board and it is asking for driver I pointed to the directory where it is located and it seems installed fine but using test tool from libusb package I found that pinguino driver is popping up and vanishing in 1 second period and very frequently it causes BSOD (system crash) later.