Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bootloaders
19-02-2016, 06:17 PM,
Bootloaders
What is the latest bootloader for the Pinguino Micro PIC32MX440 80 MHz, 8 Mhz Crystal?
Is the source code available?
Are special setting necessary to load using PICKIT3 or MPLABX?

Thanks

Dennis
19-02-2016, 07:17 PM, (This post was last modified: 19-02-2016, 07:18 PM by jwzumwalt.)
RE: Bootloaders
I am no expert on the Pinguino boot loader. I am using the Olimex 32bit Micro that came with the loader preloaded. However, I can give some information to get you started and others may correct some of what I think I know.

The bootloaders are located at...
https://github.com/PinguinoIDE/pinguino-bootloaders

I do not know if there are multiple sites or if this one is the "official" site.

As I understand it, the source code for the boot loaders has not been made public. But I am aware of at least one person who wrote their own loader. It uses VB in Win Studio 2008. I have it some where and will try to find it.

[Image: bootloader.png]
I believe (but have not tried) a mplab program could be run if the ORG was set to 0x004. I have not used mplab in a long time and I do not know if it would overwrite the jump vector at 0x000. You might have to include that too. I also do not know if mplab could be loaded to protect the bootloader program. It might have to be re-loaded too.

This will get you started, and I hope more knowledgeable individuals will add to this information.
----------------
Thanks,
j
wzumwalt
 (\__/)
 (='.'=)
 (")_(")
19-02-2016, 08:56 PM, (This post was last modified: 19-02-2016, 09:13 PM by djsmisc@gmail.com.)
JW,

When you enter boot mode (holding down the butt button, when connecting power/USB; or but->reset), do you see fast alternating green-yellow LEDS?

I have no problem programming the Pinguino Micro using the MPLABX IDE ICSP directly, but for some 'odd' reason the new OLIMEX boards (from Mouser) don't want to go into 'green-yellow' boot mode
?><??>?<>?

Thanks,